Axle swap ‘91 YJ

Landon.YJ

I am a bit new to all the off roading community in terms of builds, but have been wheeling for a few years. I am wanting to axle swap my YJ so I can regear without worrying of axles snapping on bigger tires. The issue is I am a college student saving up every penny I can spare for it but can’t quite afford a shop. Would anyone by chance be able to help me out with a backyard or garage build? I’m hoping to go with either a Dana 44 or 60 equivalent, whatever you think would be easiest and cheapest, but that way I have a base to regear and put money into as I get it. Thank you in advance and I hope you all are doing well!

Dennis

Administrator
Staff member
Everything is possible. It's better to decide up front what size tire you ultimately want to run. If 37s are your max size, then I would look at Dana 44s, or fabricated 9" housings. Dana 60 (unless it's high clearance version) would hang too low with that size of a tire. Toyota axles are also up to the task of handling 37s. The advantage of fabricated 9" axles, is they can handle way bigger tire size, while providing great clearance even with 35s.

Landon.YJ

Everything is possible. It's better to decide up front what size tire you ultimately want to run. If 37s are your max size, then I would look at Dana 44s, or fabricated 9" housings. Dana 60 (unless it's high clearance version) would hang too low with that size of a tire. Toyota axles are also up to the task of handling 37s. The advantage of fabricated 9" axles, is they can handle way bigger tire size, while providing great clearance even with 35s.
Thank you, that’ll help a lot in my search! Do you know anyone who would do it in their home garage?

DirtyChemist

Premium Member
He could do it. He has a shop. Just know paying someone to do it isn’t cheap and good work is expensive.

DirtyChemist

Premium Member
ok thank you, yes I’m aware. How much can I get away with slightly less good work for cheaper?