History of the Zebaru

Zebaru

Well, since we have a new forum and everything, I guess I should go ahead and re-introduce myself.

My name is Travis, and I am a civil engineer working in South Reno. I'm all about the research, and I don't do any local work or design work, so don't worry... I grew up in Southwest Washington, got a couple of degrees from the University of Washington, and moved down to Reno in 2000 for my job.

My first 4x4 was an 84 Subaru GL wagon. I zebra striped it, built a front brush guard, taillight guards, a roof rack, and ran (huge!)195/75r14's on Peugeot rims. This car is the genesis of the name Zebaru - Zebra + Subaru = Zebaru. The avatar pic is the only one I have left of the beast, and it was taken right after the paint job, but before the other stuff.

The car eventually died for a number of reasons, and I moved on to an 82 GL wagon, which inherited everything except the paint job. I got a weber carb, ran it hard for a couple of years, and basically killed it desert running. There were so many rust holes that I had to keep the windows down or the dust in the cab would get so bad I couldn't see out. I still miss the high(er) speed handling of the low, all independent suspension rig when I am running gravel roads. I don't miss the lack of power, clearance, and flex. I still have it, but am not sure what will become of it.

The rig I run out on the trails is an 88 XJ on 31's. D44/D30, 4.56, Tru-trac front, zexel-torsen? rear (like a tru-trac), OME ~2" lift with 1" spacer/MJ shackles - sits at 3" maybe. Cut front and rear quarters, homebrew bumpers/rock rails/roof rack/rear diff guard/x-member/disconnects. JKS trackbar, RE superflex lowers & adjustable uppers. I don't have any good pictures of this doing anything other than sitting still. There will be more pictures of my modifications later I hope, but this one will give you a basic idea:
jeepcleans.JPG