New here....

Rambler

Hey all,

I found this board doing a search for local 4x4 info. I'm pretty new at all this, but I recently bought a '77 GMC Jimmy to fulfill a long time dream of having a rig to go out with in the back country with my family. I'm not into very hard core stuff, but I want to use it to go geocaching and ghost town hunting, as well as a little off road exploring.

Anyway I've had my eyes open for a good deal on a beater Blazer for awhile and I stumbled on this Jimmy for $500.00. It needs some work, but it runs great. It's got a stock 8-400 4bbl engine, with pretty much stock everything else except for glass packs and a 600 cfm Edelbrock Performer Series carburetor on it that is worth nearly half of what I payed for the rig. I will be upgrading the intake manifold and putting headers on it as a start. I also need to lift it a bit and put new rubber on it. It also needs some body work, but I'm not going to make it look too pretty. I want something I'm not afraid to scratch. :wink:

Jimmy017.jpg

It will be a work in progress and upgrades will be slow because this is the first time I have ever done anything like this and I will only be able to afford a bit at a time.

Looking forward to getting to know you and learning some stuff from you all. I noticed most of you all have Jeeps. Hope you don't mind a GMC hanging around. :8

Connect

You bought the evil rusted twin of my blazer haha

www.cardomain.com/id/wtfxor

And in my stock cherokee I've gone farther and harder then I ever did with my blazer. True there are some things it can't replace, top off, burning out with that lovely 400 v8, posi rear. But at 8mpg you aint going far!

Last edited:

Rambler

That is a scary resemblance. I think the 31 gal gas tank and a couple of jerry cans will get me anywhere I want to go. Besides I'll be working on that 8 mpg...... I think I'll be able to squeeze 9 out of it. :D