tacoma

renopride

So I'm relatively new to off-roading, I've been to hunter lake with friends and their modified 4x4s, but I've never had a vehicle that was off road capable before. I bought a 2003 tacoma TRD a year ago, and finally took it off roading. I don't know how difficult the trip is to hunter lake, but I was extremely impressed with my truck. the clearance, the traction and the power made it an almost effortless cruise up there. I had stock tires, and kept it in 4h the entire time, taking different loops and routes to get there. I did lose a mudflap on that nasty set of rocks on the trail that loops to the left, near hunter lake. fortunately, my truck's frame was protected by the mudflap, when it got pinched between the rock and the truck.
Bottom line, that trail was a fantastic variety of terrains for my tacoma, and I was extremely impressed with how well it managed, with a 4x4 novice behind the wheel.
lesson learned though, next time tell someone where you're going! if i had eviscerated my truck on those rocks, it'd be a fun hike back.

Dirty Harry

Staff member
Good to hear that you enjoyed yourself and didn't have to hike out. There are trails in every direction from Reno that you can traverse in your Tacoma and get to vistas and destinations that most people never see. Hunter Lake is just the tip of the iceberg.

CSib

I too have a '02 Tacoma. Can't beat 'em eh??? is yours the TRD w/ V6? rear diff lock? if so I can tell you a trick or 2.

Last edited:

DirtyChemist

Tacoma > jeep every day of the week. I've taken my truck on stuff I didn't think it Wu,d hand,e that well and I've been surprised the more and more I try and push my truck.

RARECJ8

Premium Member
i have a locker in front-- i have to get out and twist the little round thing in middle of the tires to make it go. OTOH, give me one of these and i'll be quiet.

or

or if really lucky, this:

DirtyChemist

Cool. Join us sometime for a run thru Bronco Canyon or the Rubicon.