Tire Recommendation

DJRENO

Premium Member
I'm pulling together the pieces for new tires & wheels, a lift, and a re-gear on my 2015 JKUR. I'm planning on going with 315/70 - 17s rather than 35/12.50s because they tend to be a little lighter and are easier to find in a C load range rather than an E, so they should ride better. I'm looking at all of the usual suspects - KO2s, Toyo A/T IIIs, Nitto Ridge Grapplers, etc. etc. It's a long list. I have no experience with any of them. I want something that is reasonably quiet on the road, but won't let me down on trails or overlanding. I don't plan on extreme rock crawling. So, what do y'all recommend, or what do you recommend I stay away from.

Thanks

Thedirtman

KM3 for a little softer tire compound for traction, Dick Cepek trail Country for a good more budget friendly tire.

Dennis

Administrator
Staff member
I've had Falken Wildpeak ATs on my Tundra for over a year and so far they've been great.

Mr_Scott

Premium Member
I run Ko2s on all of our daily stuff including the wife's JKUR. Good traction in just about everything but nasty mud/deep snow. Seem to wear well and the sidewalls can take a beating when aired down low.

WILLD420

Premium Member
I bought a set of milestar m/t tires last year just to try them. My Ramcharger doesn't get driven much so I wasn't worried about a soft compound or long mileage life.

They flat out work. Quiet, gained 1 mpg over the bfg mt's they replaced and they grip like a cat's tongue to everything from wet, icy pavement to sand covered slabs and deep snow. I'm a fan of the bfg a/t as well but tire technology has advanced light years in the last 5-10 years.

I've run a lot of brands, here's my other experiences.

Nitto a/t. Great tire, good mpg, great on wet roads and ice / snow up to hub deep. Good life too. Good mpg as well and balance really easy.